SohoSoHo Showreels Directory Menu

Biscuit Director Isaiah Seret Captures Haunting Music Video For Indie Rock Band alt-j

20 November 2017


Director Isaiah Seret captures the haunting nostalgia, hardships and hopefulness of 1930’s life Welsh mining communities in “Pleader,” the new music video by indie rock band alt-j. As the music builds, the story escalates in a hazy montage filled with triumphs and tribulations.



About Biscuit Filmworks
Biscuit Filmworks is a Los Angeles-based commercial production company founded in 2000 by director Noam Murro and managing director Shawn Lacy. Directors on the Biscuit roster include Aaron Ruell, Aaron Stoller, Andreas Nilsson, Ayse Altinok, Christopher Riggert, Clay Weiner, Dan DiFelice, Errol Morris, Isaiah Seret, Jeff Low, Matt Devine, Matt Dilmore, Michael Downing, Noam Murro, and Steve Rogers.


Director: Isaiah Seret
Executive Producer: Rupert Reynolds-MacLean
Producer: Sonya Sier
Story: Joe Newman & Isaiah Seret
Director of Photography: John Lynch
Production Designer: Marie Lanna   Costume Designer: Mr Gammon
Hair & Make Up Designer: Freddie Stopler
Casting Director: Kharmel Cochrane
Production Manager: Rebecca Mason
Production Coordinator: Jana Nouskova
Production Coordinator: Elena Argiros
Production Assistant: Gabija Lauce
Executive Logistic Manager: Nick Sier   1st Assistant Director: Louis Barron
1st / 2nd Assistant Director: Tom Allan
Runner/2nd: Yasmin Seddon
Runner: Daniel Linnik-Zhuravliov
Runner/Driver: Tereza Dvorak
Runner/Driver: Munzir Quraishy
Focus Puller: Rupert Hornstein
2nd Assistant Camera: Kitt Sullivan   Steadicam: Leo Bund
Stills Photographer: Jake Dypka
DIT: Mike McDuffie   Grip: Benjamin Thomas
Gaffer: Romaine Foster
Electrician: Josh Wood
Set Dresser: Andrius Vystartas   Set Dresser: Jessica Morris
Art Department Assistant: Emma Chitty
Stand-by Props: Tom Major
Art Dept Assistant: Ellie Koszak
Action Vehicle Driver: Mr Weedon   Costume Designer Assistant: Chloe Adele
Costume Designer Assistant: Bridget Phelan   Hair Make Up Assistant: Heather Pitchford   Hair Make Up Assistant: Ellie Lewis   Casting Assistant: Heather Basten
Casting Assistant: Ariane Mason
Locations Assistant: Heather O'Neil
Locations Assistant: Zoe & Michael Tootell
Researcher: Joel Maslin
Choir master: Caroline Venter

Cardiff Council: Emma Coulthard

Sophie Cookson – Bronwyn
Morgan Watkins – Andre
Anton Saunders – Hew (Andre’s brother)
Oliver Dimech – Younger Llewelyn
Harry Tayler – Younger Llewelyn   Ewan Hipperson – Older Llewelyn
Nick Sier – Miner
Robert Liddiard – Miner
Chris Morgan – Miner
Saskia Vaigncourt – Miners wife
Liza Ludbrook – Miners wife
Penelope Wildgoose – Miners wife
Sanna Kelly - Nun
Amy Evans – Nun 2   Basil Massy – Choir master
Arron Shire – Choir children
Elmari Venter – Choir children
Honor Hopkin – Choir children
Mathys Venter – Choir children
Owen Keegan – Choir children
Rayne Turner – Choir children
Rubyn Dimond – Choir children
Seren Wallington – Choir children
Tegan Wallington – Choir children
Tomos Boffy – Choir children
Harvey Sullivan – School bully
Rico Seddon-Davidson – School boy
Levi Seddon-Davidson School boy
Luca Jordan – School boy
Oscar Rudolph – School boy
Will Rudolph – School boy
  Edit company:  Work Post LA
Editor: Stewart Reeves
Edit Producer: Marguerite Olivelle     Music Edit - Parallax Post
Music editors - Luke Lynch & Paul Rogers
  Post Production: Time Based Arts
Tom Johnson - Executive Producer
Sheldon Gardner - VFX Supervisor
Simone Grattarola - Colourist
Ben Stonehouse - Flame
Bernardo Varela - Nuke Lead
Ralph Brisco - Nuke
Lisa Ayla - Matte Painting
Mike Battcock - CG
Ben Cantor – CG
Federico Guzzardo – CG

Sound mix - Factory Studios

Sound Design & mix – Jon Clarke
Audio Producer – Lou Allen

Commissioner - Andrew Law

Directors Rep - Chloe Page
Label: Infectious Music UK
Manager: Stephen Tavener   Manager: Chelsea London
Marketing Manager: Jo Power

  Production Company: Biscuit Filmworks UK

 Birth imagery excerpted from Stan Brakhage, Window Water Baby Moving (1959, 16 mm, colour, silent, 12:11)
Volcano stock footage by James Reynolds – Earth Uncut TV  

Special Thank you:
Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton, Thom Green, Shawn Lacy, Noam Murro.

Thank you:
Bradford Young, Daniel Wolfe, Isabelle & Jon Albuquerque, Jessica Seret, James Allen, Mike Skrgatic, Lisette Nice, Hanna Bayatti, Samantha Chitty, Joshua Skurla, Romilly Bowlby, Chloe Burrows, Jeff & Deane @ Brownian Motion Pinewood, Craig & Hildegarde @ Prolight, Get Set Hire, Blaenavon Ironworks Staff, Sylvia & Team @ St Fagans Museum, South Wales Caving Club

Contact Name
Hanna Bayati